January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

January 2016 Ipsy Review

I got my first Ipsy glam bag this month after spending hours watching reviews on YouTube and so far, I’m loving it! I did take a video of my unopening, but unfortunately it was too blurry for me to show, so we’ll have to go with some photos instead! I’ve had a chance to try out these products a few times now too, so I’ll be sharing my opinion with the photos.
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

 

So first we have the bag. I love little bags like this and use them for everything (part of why I decided to start signing up for monthlys with Ipsy over other brands). It’s not my favourite that I’ve ever seen, but it’s fun and colourful so I like it! 
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

Next up we have a smudge brush from Skone, and it’s beautiful! Rose gold and black makes it look really sharp. Aside from it’s aesthetic, it seems to be good quality. So far I’ve only tested it out on one eyeliner which isn’t very smudge-able (is that a word?), but it did help to soften up the look!
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

This is the eyeliner I used with the smudge brush mentioned above. When I first opened this, I was a bit confused about the colour (not in a bad way) it’s just a little hard to explain. It’s a purple-y brown colour. Brown really brings out my blue eyes, so this is great for that, without being too bland of a colour. It also goes on smoothly and has great pigmentation. 
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

Keeping with the eye trend, there is this really cute little duo. Again, the colours of this palette bring out my blue eyes, especially the bronze-y brown colour. I paired this duo with the eyeliner (using the brush), and you can check out the results at the bottom of this post. These colours (especially the brown) were quite pigmented. 
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

This is a sugar lip scrub, and it is actually really nice. I have only tried one other lip scrub before which was by Lush (still my favourite), but this gets the job done. I found I have to do two coats to really get a polished look on my lips, winter hasn’t been kind to them.
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

Last for the month, is this cleansing oil by Burts Bees. I absolutely love this brand, so was really excited to see it as part of the kit. The oil doesn’t come out super easily (which is good) but on my first try, I took the cap off and squeezed (like you may do for a thick consistency) and wasted half of the bottle. So keep your lid on and shake into the palm of your hand like an old Ketchup bottle if you’re having any difficulty! Overall, I love this product! I have combination skin and facial oils don’t always work great for me since I’m prone to breakouts, but I’ve had no problems with this and it has helped my skin soften (again – winter is harsh!) 
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber Primdahl

So that was my kit for the month of January! I’ve already had one friend hop on board, and am really looking forward to see what February has in store!! 
January 2016 Ipsy Review Amber PrimdahlI threw on the eye products one day and they look great together, and I’m really impressed with them! (Don’t hate on my eyeshadow application skills, it was all done with my fingers!) Also in this photo, I had recently used the lip scrub and washed my face with the Burts Bees cleanser!

 

 

 

You Might Also Like...

3 Comments

  • Reply
    Beth | Adventuring the Great Wide Somewhere
    February 8, 2016 at 11:15 am

    Yesss! I love these sub boxes! I’ve pared it down to just Birchbox, but Boxycharm is another good one if you’re looking for full-size products. 😀

  • Reply
    Jenny
    February 4, 2016 at 10:16 pm

    I’ve heard so many things about ipsy! The makeup bag is so cute!

  • Reply
    aaronica @ the crunchy mommy
    February 1, 2016 at 6:02 pm

    this bag alone makes me miss my ipsy subscription!!!! great review!

  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: